Monza & Kyalami Added to Provisional 2020/2021 WEC Calendar

The provisional calendar for the 2020/2021 FIA World Endurance Championship has been released. The 8-race series, which features two new rounds in Monza and Kyalami, is set to begin at Silverstone next September and conclude with the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June 2021.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza, which has hosted several WEC test sessions in recent years, is a popular edition to next year’s calendar. The race at the home of the Italian Grand Prix will be run over 6 hours on October 4, 2020. Another circuit with Formula 1 pedigree joins the calendar; Kyalami in South Africa last welcomed top flights sportscars in 1984. The 6 Hours of Kyalami is set to take place on February 6, 2021. The new rounds will replace Shanghai International Circuit and Circuit of The Americas. The former has been part of the WEC since its inception in 2012, while the latter has staged five races in eight years. The circuit on the outskirts of Austin was also a late addition to this year’s calendar after the round at Interlagos in Brazil was cancelled.

The ninth series of WEC will see the introduction of the new Le Mans Hypercar class that will replace the Le Mans Prototype (LMP1) class. It will be open to race-modified versions of existing hypercars or specially designed prototypes. Hybrid power is optional. Toyota, Aston Martin and Peugeot have already confirmed their intention to develop cars for the new Le Mans Hypercar class in WEC.

2020/2021 WEC Provisional Calendar

Aug 31-Sep 1, 2020Pre-Season TestSilverstone
September 5, 20206 Hours of SilverstoneSilverstone
October 4, 20206 Hours of Monza**Autodromo Nazionale Monza
November 1, 20206 Hours of FujiFuji Speedway
December 5, 20208 Hours of Bahrain**Bahrain International Circuit
February 6, 20216 Hours of Kyalami**Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit*
March 19, 20211000 Miles of Sebring**Sebring International Raceway
April 24, 20216 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps**Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps
June 12-13, 202124 Hours of Le Mans**Circuit de la Sarthe (Le Mans)
*Circuit guide coming soon
**Event guides coming soon

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *