2022 Formula E calendar revealed

The 2022 Formula E calendar has been revealed. The sport’s 16-round eighth season, which will be held between January and August, will visit 12 major cities around the globe.

The eighth season of Formula E will get underway in January 2022, with a double header of races in Saudi Arabia. In 2021, Diriyah hosted the series’ first ever night races. From there, the third race of the season will be held in Mexico City at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. This year’s Mexico race was moved to the Autodromo Miguel E. Abed and renamed the Puebla E-Prix, as the Mexico City circuit was being utilised as a hospital during the coronavirus pandemic.

Returning races

There are plenty of familiar locations on 2022’s Formula E calendar. The Rome E-Prix will be held for the fifth time on April 9, while Circuit de Monaco will host the Monaco E-Prix once again at the end of April

Berlin remains the only city to have hosted a race in every season, with the 2022 Berlin E-Prix taking place on May 14. Brooklyn Street Circuit will host Rounds 11 and 12 of the season with the New York E-Prix on July 16 and 17.

The ExCel – which is set to host the London E-Prix for the first time later this month – will return to the calendar in 2022, with a pair of races scheduled for the last weekend in July.

China will also return to the Formula E calendar for the first time since 2019. The location of the race, which is set to be the fifth round of the season, is yet to be confirmed. The series has formerly raced in Beijing and Sanya.

New venues on the calendar

There are three new venues on the 2022 Formula E calendar. Cape Town will host Formula E’s first race in South Africa. It will be the first time World Championship single-seater racing has been held in the country since Formula 1’s 1993 South African Grand Prix.

The Vancouver E-Prix – scheduled to take place on July 2 – sees Formula E return to Canada for the first time since the one-off Montreal E-Prix weekend, held in July 2017.

Seoul will host the final two races of the 2022 season on August 13-14. It will be the first time a major international racing event has taken place in South Korea since the 2013 Korean Grand Prix. Seoul’s addition to the calendar was originally announced back in 2018, with the inaugural race set to take place in 2020. However, the event was cancelled in response to the pandemic.

No Paris E-Prix in 2022

The Paris E-Prix will not take place in 2022 – though Formula E says that the event will return to the calendar in 2023 on a biennial basis. The location of Round 9, to be held on June 4, is yet to be confirmed.

The 2022 Formula E calendar

1Saudi ArabiaDiriyahJanuary 28
2Saudi ArabiaDiriyahJanuary 29
3MexicoMexico CityFebruary 12
4South AfricaCape TownFebruary 26
5ChinaTBDMarch 19
6ItalyRomeApril 9
7MonacoMonte CarloApril 30
8GermanyBerlinMay 14
10CanadaVancouverJuly 2
11USANew York CityJuly 16
12USANew York CityJuly 17
13United KingdomLondonJuly 30
14United KingdomLondonJuly 31
15South KoreaSeoulAugust 13
16South KoreaSeoulAugust 14

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *