Revised 2019/2020 Formula E calendar gets the green light

A revised Formula E calendar for 2019/2020 has been approved by the FIA’s World Motorsports Council. Marrakesh replaces Hong Kong on the 12-city, 14 race calendar that begins in Saudi Arabia on November 22-23.

The Hong Kong E-Prix has been dropped from the calendar for Season 6 (originally announced in June) as a result of the ongoing political unrest in the city. It will be replaced by the Marrakesh E-Prix on February 29. Hong Kong may be out, but China retains a place on the Season 6 calendar with confirmation of the Sanya E-Prix on March 21.

The race planned for December 14, which was listed as TBC on the original calendar published in June, has also been cancelled. This avoids a clash with the WEC (the 8 Hours of Bahrain takes place on that weekend), but means that there is an 8-week gap between the opening rounds of the season in Abu Dhabi (November 22-23) and the third round in Santiago, Chile on January 18, 2020. Speaking of WEC, only one calendar clash now remains on the season six calendar ; the 1000 Miles of Sebring is set for the same weekend as the Sanya E-Prix (March 20-21).

The established races in Berlin and New York have also been moved back on the revised calendar, while a new race in the Indonesian capital of Jakarta is set for June 6, 2020. Seoul also joins the Formula E calendar for the first time (May 3) and London returns after a four-year absence on a new circuit with a double header to close out the season on July 25-26.

Season 6 Formula E Calendar

November 22Ad Diriyah E-PrixRiyadh Street Circuit
November 23Ad Diriyah E-PrixRiyadh Street Circuit
January 18Santiago E-Prix*Parque O’Higgins Circuit
February 15Mexico City E-Prix*Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
February 29Marrakesh E-PrixCircuit Moulay El Hassan
March 21Sanya E-PrixSanya Street Circuit
April 4Rome E-PrixCircuito Cittadino dell’EUR
April 18Paris E-PrixCircuit des Invalides
May 3Seoul E-Prix*Seoul Street Circuit
June 6Jakarta E-Prix*Jakarta Street Circuit
June 21Berlin E-PrixTempelhof Airport Street Circuit
July 11New York E-Prix
Brooklyn Street Circuit
July 25London E-Prix*ExCel London
July 26London E-Prix*ExCel London
* Subject to circuit homologation

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *