Formula E announces provisional Season 7 calendar for 2021

A provisional calendar for the seventh season of Formula E has been approved by the FIA’s World Motorsports Council. The season is set to kick off in Chile next January and feature 14 races in 12 cities.

Following news that the final six rounds of the 2019/2020 Formula E calendar will take place in Berlin this August, the FIA has ratified the provisional calendar for Season 7. Although it’s referred to as the “2020/2021 calendar,” all 14 races are set to take place in 2021. It will be the first time that Formula E has been recognized as a World Championship by the FIA.

Season 7 is set to begin on January 16 with the 2021 Santiago E-Prix after a new agreement was signed with city officials in the Chilean capital. The second round will also be in South America, with the popular 2021 Mexico City E-Prix taking place on February 13. Formula E then moves to Saudi Arabia (previously the season opener) with the double-header 2021 Ad Diriyah E-Prix in the capital Riyadh on February 26 and 27. After being the first race cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2021 Sanya E-Prix in China is set for March 13.

The European leg of the season kicks off with the 2021 Rome E-Prix on April 10, followed at two-week intervals by the 2021 Paris E-Prix on April 24 and the 2021 Monaco E-Prix on May 8. The inaugural 2021 Seoul E-Prix, which was cancelled this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, is to take place on May 23. The following race, set for June 5, is listed as TBC – this could be the inaugural Jakarta E-Prix, which was scheduled to join the calendar this year but has been beset by local opposition.

Formula E returns to Europe for the 2021 Berlin E-Prix (June 19) before the 2021 New York E-Prix on July 10 and the final two races of the season in London. The 2021 London E-Prix double header at the new ExCel Arena Circuit is scheduled for July 24 and 25.

The Hong Kong E-Prix and the Marrakesh E-Prix are both missing from the provisional Season 7 calendar, the former due to ongoing political unrest.

Season 7 Formula E Calendar (2021)

January 16, 20212021 Santiago E-PrixParque O'Higgins Circuit
February 13, 20212021 Mexico City E-PrixAutodromo Hermanos Rodriguez*
February 26-27, 2021**2021 Ad Diriyah E-PrixRiyadh Street Circuit
March 13, 20212021 Sanya E-PrixSanya Street Circuit
April 10, 20212021 Rome E-PrixCircuito Cittadino dell’EUR
April 24, 20212021 Paris E-PrixCircuit des Invalides
May 8, 20212021 Monaco E-PrixCircuit de Monaco
May 23, 2021*2021 Seoul E-PrixSeoul Street Circuit
June 5, 2021TBCTBC
June 19, 20212021 Berlin E-PrixTempelhof Airport Street Circuit
July 10, 20212021 New York E-PrixBrooklyn Street Circuit
July 24-25, 2021**2021 London E-PrixExCel London Formula E Circuit
*Subject to circuit homologation
**Double header

Which Formula E race are you planning to attend in 2021? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *