Formula E: Mexico City E-Prix in numbers

How many points have Mexican drivers scored at their home event? What’s the furthest back grid slot from which the race has been won? Here’s Formula E’s Mexico City E-Prix in numbers!

0.106 seconds

The smallest win margin at the Mexico City E-Prix came at the 2016 Mexico City E-Prix. Originally the battle for second place, Jerome d’Ambrosio beat Sebastien Buemi to the finish line by just 0.106 seconds. Following Lucas Di Grassi’s disqualification from the race, d’Ambrosio was promoted into first place.


Just a single point has been scored by home drivers at the Mexico City E-Prix. Two Mexican drivers have competed in the event – Salvador Duran (in 2016) and Esteban Gutierrez (in 2017). Gutierrez is the only Mexican driver to score at the event. He finished tenth with Techeetah, picking up his first point on his maiden appearance in the series.


The layout of Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez used for Formula E’s Mexico City E-Prix is 1.698km shorter than the layout used by Formula 1 for the Mexico City Grand Prix.


Lucas Di Grassi has won the Mexico City E-Prix twice, in 2017 and 2019. He is one of only six drivers to have won the same E-Prix more than once. Di Grassi has actually crossed the finish line first three times at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, but was disqualified as his car was underweight.


From 24 grid slots, there are only two which are yet to score at the Mexico City E-Prix – 14th and 19th. The best result from 14th on the grid is eleventh place, for Robin Frijns in 2017, while the best result from 19th is thirteenth place, for Jerome d’Ambrosio, also in 2017.


Three of the five Formula E races held in Mexico City have resulted in retirements for the polesitter.


Lucas di Grassi is the only driver to cross the finish line at all five Mexico City E-Prix. However, he was disqualified from the 2016 race.


Eight drivers have appeared in every Mexico City E-Prix to date. With Jerome d’Ambrosio not on the 2022 grid, that number will become seven this weekend.


Lucas Di Grassi won the 2017 Mexico City E-Prix from 15th on the grid. It’s the furthest back grid slot from which a Formula E race has been won.


Pascal Wehrlein holds the record for the most positions gained at the Mexico City E-Prix. He was demoted to the back of the grid in 2020 after taking a 40 place grid penalty for changing his gearbox twice. Despite serving a drive through penalty in the race, Wehrelin made up fifteen places to finish in ninth place.


Eighteenth isn’t a bad place to start the Mexico City E-Prix from. The grid slot has recorded top eight finishes in all of the last four races at the track. The best result recorded from here is fourth place, for Jerome d’Ambrosio in 2019.


Daniel Abt took his first Formula E victory at the 2018 Mexico City E-Prix. It came on his 38th race start in the series – the second highest number of starts before a driver’s first win. The only driver to start more Formula E races before taking victory is Alex Lynn, who claimed his first win at the 2021 London E-Prix (Race 2), on his 40th appearance.


In total, 44 different drivers have competed at the Mexico City E-Prix. That number rises to 50 this weekend, with Antonio Giovinazzi, Dan Ticktum, Jake Dennis, Nick Cassidy, Oliver Askew and Sérgio Sette Câmara making their first Formula E outings at the circuit.


Two-time Mexico City E-Prix winner Lucas di Grassi leads the way for most points scored at the Mexico City E-Prix. He’s picked up 61 points at the event. 2020 Mexico City E-Prix winner Mitch Evans is second on the list. With points finishes in the last four E-Prix at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Evans has picked up 52 points at the venue. 


Jean-Eric Vergne is the only driver to have out-qualified his team-mate on all five appearances at the Mexico City E-Prix.


In 2021, Autódromo Internacional Miguel E. Abed hosted Mexico’s Formula E race. The home of the Puebla E-Prix is located 150km east of Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, home of the Mexico City E-Prix.

The 2022 Mexico City E-Prix takes place at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez on February 12.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *