Learn more about the important stats from Baku City Circuit, which joined the F1 calendar in 2016.


No driver has won more than one Grand Prix at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg won dominantly in 2016, Daniel Ricciardo took an unexpected victory in 2017, Lewis Hamilton took his first win at the track in 2018 and Valtteri Bottas won the last Azerbaijan Grand Prix in 2019.


The highest number of Safety Car periods in a Grand Prix at the track came in the chaotic 2017 race, which saw four Safety Car outings plus a red flag.


At its narrowest point – at Turns 8 & 9 – the Baku City Circuit is just 7.6 metres wide. It’s the narrowest part of any F1 track on the current calendar. The standard minumum track width for new Formula 1 circuits is 12 metres (15 metres for the starting grid through to the exit of the first corner).


The first Grand Prix at the Baku City Circuit saw the highest number of race finishers, with eighteen cars crossing the line. Rio Haryanto finished in eighteenth place.


There’s a time difference of 32 minutes between the longest and the shortest races at this track. The shortest was the 2019 race, which Valtteri Bottas won in just under 92 minutes, while the longest was the 2017 event, which Daniel Ricciardo completed in two hours and three minutes.


Russian drivers have a 100% DNF rate at the Baku circuit. Daniil Kvyat retired from all of his appearances at the track in 2016, 2017 and 2019, while Sergey Sirotkin retired from his first and only Azerbaijan Grand Prix appearance in 2018. How will Nikita Mazepin fare in 2021?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *