Qatar Grand Prix in Numbers

Who holds the Qatar lap time record? Which rider has had the most MotoGP wins at the track? And how many bulbs illuminate the circuit? Here’s Losail International Circuit in numbers!


MotoGP hosted two races at Losail International Circuit in 2021. The Qatar Grand Prix opened the season and was followed one week later by the one-off Doha Grand Prix. The races were won by Maverick Viñales and Fabio Quartararo respectively.


When it joined the F1 calendar in 2021, the Qatar Grand Prix became the third race on the calendar held entirely at night. The Singapore and Bahrain Grands Prix are also held under floodlights.


Casey Stoner and Valentino Rossi share the record for most premier class MotoGP victories in Qatar. Stoner won the event in each year from 2007 to 2009 and took a fourth win at the track in 2011. Rossi won here in 2005, 2006, 2010 and 2015.


Losail International Circuit is just under 5.4km in length.


While Casey Stoner and Valentino Rossi share the record for most MotoGP wins here, Jorge Lorenzo holds the record for most overall wins at the track. In addition to his three MotoGP wins in 2012, 2013 and 2016, Lorenzo also won the 125cc class in 2004 and took victory in the 250cc races in 2006 and 2007.


The Qatar Grand Prix joined the Formula 1 calendar on a 10-year deal in 2021. There will be no race in the country in 2022 due to Qatar hosting the World Cup – but the event will return at a yet to be named venue in 2023.


There are sixteen corners at Losail International Circuit, nine to the right and seven to the left.


500km of electrical wiring is used to keep Losail International Circuit illuminated.


This is the fastest lap time ever set at the circuit. This lap was set by Lewis Hamilton in qualifying for F1’s 2021 Qatar Grand Prix. It beat the former record – a 1:35.741, set by  Nico Hulkenberg in qualifying for Losail’s round of the GP2 Asia championship in 2009, by 15 seconds. 


The main straight at Losail International Circuit is just over a kilometre long. For that reason, Turn 1 is expected to be the best overtaking opportunity at the venue for F1 cars.


Losail International Circuit opened in 2004. MotoGP’s inaugural Qatar Grand Prix was the first major event to take place at the track.


MotoGP’s first ever night race took place at Losail International Circuit in 2008. MotoGP hosted its first night race just over six months before Formula 1’s first night race took place. Formula 1’s inaugural night race was the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix, held at Marina Bay Street Circuit.


There are no fewer than 3,600 bulbs lighting the circuit for night racing.


The total grandstand capacity at Losail International Circuit is a modest 8,000. 

$58 million

Losail International Circuit cost $58 million to build. Construction work was carried out by over 1,000 workers.

MotoGP’s 2022 Qatar Grand Prix will take place at Losail International Circuit on March 4-6. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *