Mexican Grand Prix in Numbers

Which engine manufacturer has had the most success in Mexico? What’s the highest number of wins recorded by a driver at the Mexican Grand Prix? And which driver has started from the front row on the most occasions? Here’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Numbers!


In 2018, Max Verstappen became the first driver to record consecutive wins at the Mexican Grand Prix in its World Championship history. Jim Clark recorded two consecutive wins at the track in 1963 and 1964, but the 1963 race was a non-championship event in which Clark shared a drive with Trevor Taylor.


No driver has taken more than two wins here in the event’s World Championship history. Jim Clark, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton are the five repeat winners at the track. Verstappen or Hamilton could become the first driver to reach three Mexican Grand Prix wins in 2021.


Honda have the most wins for an engine manufacturer at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, with four victories. Their very first win in Formula 1 came at this track in 1965, courtesy of Richie Ginther. They went on to score three consecutive victories in Mexico in the 1980s; their most recent coming in 1989 with Ayrton Senna in his McLaren Honda.


No driver has started from the front row of the grid on more occasions at the Mexican Grand Prix than Jim Clark. He started from the front row five times. In total, twenty drivers have started from the front row at this track. Clark, Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell and Riccardo Patrese are the only drivers who’ve had more than two front row starts here.


Six Mexican drivers have competed in Formula 1. The list includes the Rodriguez brothers – Pedro and Ricardo, whom the circuit is named in honour of – as well as recent Mexican drivers Esteban Gutierrez and Sergio Perez. The best result for a Mexican driver in their home Grand Prix is fourth place, scored by Pedro Rodriguez in 1968. Read more about Mexico’s Home Race Heroes here.


The lowest grid slot to have recorded a podium finish at the Mexican Grand Prix was 14th, on two occasions. In 1968, Jackie Oliver claimed the first podium finish of his career by finishing third from fourteenth on the grid; Denny Hulme repeated the feat in 1970.


This year’s Mexican Grand Prix will be the 21st held as part of the F1 World Championship. As a result, the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez will move ahead of Watkins Glen (USA), Kyalami (South Africa) and Autodromo Juan y Oscar Gálvez (Argentina) as the circuit to have hosted the fifteenth most World Championship Grands Prix.


The 1968 Mexican Grand Prix saw the highest attrition rate at the event, with less than half of the field making the end of the race. Just nine of the 21 starters saw the chequered flag, giving a finish rate of 42.86%. While that’s the highest attrition rate, both the 1965 and 1966 races saw only eight cars reach the finish!


Mercedes have scored the most points of any team at the circuit, with 168 points to their name. Mercedes have only appeared at the circuit five times so far, highlighting how much of an impact the new scoring system has on points records. Ferrari and Red Bull are the only other teams to have scored more than 100 points at the event.


Jim Clark led 191 laps of the circuit during his career. It’s a figure which Max Verstappen could overtake this season, if he leads 54 laps of the race. Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc are the only other current drivers who have led laps at this circuit.


Lotus have led the most laps at the Mexican Grand Prix. They have led 258 laps in total, equating to a distance led of 1,288km. Graham Hill was the last Lotus driver to lead a race in Mexico, doing so on his way to victory in 1968.


Mexico City is 2,200 metres above sea level and is the highest altitude at which F1 races all season.

The 2021 Mexican Grand Prix takes place at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez on November 5-7

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *